The Search for a Chromebook

My daughter decided she wanted a chromebook to do some writing and other schoolwork on. Here’s some quick notes and a few links..Personally, Ihink it’d be nicer to have one with a bit larger screen than the 11.6″ widescreen versions.  My eyes are on the Samsung Chomebook Plus right now. It has the android app support already and has as an ~12.5″ 4:3 display.

My daughter on the other hand is looking for even more portability. I’m still searching for a decent one but so far think a pretty good compromise is the Asus Flip C110PA which is also has the touchscreen capability.

Both have hinges that allow for use as a tablet and the 10″ asus is ~$200 less expensive.

For a non-touchscreen version, I’m keen on the Acer Chromebook 14 Gold Edition (CB3-431-C0AK).

Android App compatability: https://sites.google.com/a/chromium.org/dev/chromium-os/chrome-os-systems-supporting-android-apps

 

